Why my coffee experiment failed

Posted: October 21, 2014 in Uncategorized
Tags: , , , , , ,

Apparently, I need to go back to school. (Wait, I’m already in school!) I guess I need to go back to science class, then.

Because my coffee experiment failed. It failed hard. In week two, when I had determined that I could have two cups of coffee, I actually managed to finish both weeks two and three, all in a mere seven days. Except not in a good way. More like I just drank way too much coffee from Starbucks on those days.

So I went ahead and looked up the steps of the scientific method:

  1. Ask a question.
  2. Do background research.
  3. Construct a hypothesis.
  4. Test your hypothesis by doing an experiment.
  5. Analyze your data and draw a conclusion.
  6. Communicate your results.

Well, I asked a question – can I cut down on my Starbucks addiction?

My background research…not so much. I seem to have skipped that part a bit. I mean, I noted that I drank it almost every day, but I didn’t pay attention to how often it really was or how badly I was really addicted.

My hypothesis was that I could make it with one day a week of Starbucks simply because I would know it was better for me in multiple way.

I tested that hypothesis. And, well, again, not so much.

So here I go, analyzing my data:
I was miserable for the first week.
In the second week, I revised the Starbucks allowance, and I still managed to fail at keeping it down.

The conclusion:
I can’t go down from almost seven days a week to one day a week. It just isn’t going to happen.

Now let me communicate the result:
I will try to keep reducing my Starbucks intake. I will actually keep track of how often I buy it, and when/why I buy it. (E.g. am I always buying it mid-day? In the morning? In the evening? When am I buying it so that I can sit in Starbucks and get some work done versus when am I buying it because I want to bring it to school so I will stay awake in class?)

I think figuring out these things will help me because I’ll have my background research, and maybe there will be a redo of the experiment in another month or so…but with more reasonable requirements on me…

Leave a Reply

