The Great Coffee Experiment – Part Two

Posted: October 13, 2014 in Uncategorized
Tags: , , , , , ,

I did it!

I made it a week!

And during that week, I realized a few things…

  1. It is super unbelievably hard to avoid buying coffee 6 out of 7 days a weeks.
  2. It might have been slightly unrealistic to think I could go from 7 days a week of coffee to 1 day a week of coffee.
  3. I will definitely not be able to keep this up for the month.

I know, I know, I’m going back on my word pretty quickly. But here’s the thing – I did it, even though it was hard, but it’s going to get harder.

Next weekend, I have to make a run up to Dallas, driving a friend’s daughter up and back and staying there for two days.

I cannot make that drive without Starbucks. Seriously, it just is not going to happen. Starbucks is part of my driving mojo. It’s magic. It keeps me going when I’m tired, and with a four to five hour drive through the middle of nowhere, I’m not sure how else I can make it.

So I’m not dropping the challenge. But I am going to adjust it.

Instead of dropping to one day a week, I’m going to allow myself two days a week. That means I can buy it on the Friday when I drive up and then again on the Sunday when I drive home. It means that when I’m absolutely exhausted or stressed, I can go ahead and get it without wondering if I’m ruining my week by having it so early.

I’m still going to try to keep it to once a week, but if I can’t, it will be okay. Maybe next month I’ll drop back down and see if I can do it. But life is about being flexible, and I’m not going to make myself miserable when all I need to do is flex a bit.

Leave a Reply

