The Great Coffee Experiment

Posted: October 6, 2014 in Uncategorized
Tags: , , , , ,

I’ve decided to issue myself a challenge. I’m going to go four weeks with only four Starbucks drinks.

Seriously.

If you know me, you know that sounds like it’ll be impossible, but I think it’s completely do-able. I’m committed. (Yes, yes, this is where all the “you should be committed” jokes can go.)

Now, keep in mind, I’m not giving up coffee in general. I’m not that crazy yet. I’ll still be able to make myself coffee.

But I figured out that by going down to four Starbucks drinks per month, I would save over $100 in those 28 days. So half-way in, I’m going to deposit $50 into savings. At the end, another $50.

Can I really do it?

Okay, honestly, I’m not entirely sure.

Why am I going to try to do it?

Because I want to teach myself something. I want to teach myself that Starbucks is a luxury item. I don’t need it. I might want it, but that’s a whole different thing than need. And if I’m going to spend time complaining about being poor and not having enough money to do things I want to do, maybe I need to cut back on those things that make me poor.

There are other benefits to the great coffee experiment, too. Other than saving a bunch of money, I’ll also be saving calories. Right now, I drink almost 200 liquid calories a day. And a lot of that is sugar because I like mochas, and I can’t stand their sugar free syrup.

It will cut back my footprint a bit. Less driving if I don’t need to go buy coffee. Less paper and plastic from the cups I always get. I’ll be using plastic tumblers and cups that I can bring home and wash when I’m done with them.

It’s also good because if I can get myself to give up Starbucks, what else can I give up? What other money can I save every month to save up for something good – something worthwhile?

I need to cut back and save, and this is a good first step. Now I just have to figure out what step two will be…

Leave a Reply

