The Habit of Nice

Posted: October 4, 2014 in Uncategorized
Tags: , , , , , ,

I decided to try something almost two months ago. It was an app I found for my iPhone called “Good Habits.” This little program lets you track good habits that you want to keep or develop.

Originally, I included writing and other goals – things like making sure I took time to write every day, exercise every day, create something every day…but then I discovered something.

Gift: Image by Serge Bertasius Photography via freedigitalphotos.net

Image by Serge Bertasius Photography via freedigitalphotos.net

It worked.

Seriously, I found that being able to check it off, being able to see how many days I had kept up on those good habits really helped inspire me to come up with new good habits.

Then I came up with my favorite good habit of all times: “Do something nice for someone else.”

I added it to my phone 49 days ago.

And I’ve achieved my habit every day for all 49 of those days.

Maybe it wasn’t anything huge. And sometimes it was cheap – or free. I would donate small amounts of money to causes people I knew cared about. Sent (or delivered) flowers or food. Written notes and emails. Made cookies. Gave people rides. Bought coffee.

And know what? It’s been fun!

It’s kind of cool to see that I can think of something nice to do for someone else every day. It doesn’t take a whole lot of time and effort, and there’s something super satisfying to realize that I can do it. That I want to do it.

But, to keep this clear, I’m still a massive bitch, and I hate all of humanity. Just saying.

Grumpy Child by Clare Bloomfield via freedigitalphotos.net

Image by Clare Bloomfield via freedigitalphotos.net

Comments
  1. Tammy says:

    I hope people realize, just because someone is a bitch doesn’t mean they don’t do nice. The bitch persona always seems to trump the nice persona when being thought of by others, especially those related to you (not the bitch’s choosing). I hope you can tell I’m talking about myself. Being a bitch is just part of a person’s personality, like being nice, or introverted. That’s just part of who I am. Don’t take it personally. I believe sometimes assertiveness is mistaken for bitchiness in women; whereas in men it is viewed as being authoritative. Just my opinion, but observation points to this conclusion.

    Kate, you are a model of how we humans can improve ourselves (even when we are already pretty awesome).

    Sorry, this rambling may have nothing to do with your topic…

    • Hi Tammy,

      I totally agree with the idea that bitches can be nice. I fully acknowledge that I’m a bitch, too. That doesn’t mean that I’m not supremely awesome and nice.

      And I didn’t think you were talking about yourself. I haven’t found the bitchy in you yet. 🙂

      Kate

Leave a Reply

