The new magic from witches – the watches!

Posted: December 16, 2013 in Uncategorized
Tags: , , , , ,
Mickey Mouse watch

Mickey Mouse! Mickey Mouse! by gracey @morgueFile

Seriously.  Watches aren’t new.  Nor are they hard to find.  But, according to this past Sunday’s “Style” in the Houston Chronicle (12/15/13), it looks like watches are now trending.  I suppose people are tired of carrying around those annoying sun dials everywhere they go.  According to the piece by Sarah Rufea, the first wristwatch came out in 1868.  So…not new.  Apparently they are extremely rare and hard to come by, though.  Why do I think that?  Well, if you read this article, it appears that the cheapest watch you can find is just over $200.  Seriously.

Rufea goes over the glory of rose gold on a watch.  The two watches listed are in two price ranges – expensive and holy shit I think I just bought a watch instead of paying for a college education!  The first one is mere $695 – hey, it’s only a Burberry, though.  The second one is a Chopard L.U.C. at a whopping $38,500.  Yeah, that’s right.  Almost $40,000.  For a watch.

That’s okay, though, if you don’t like rose gold, there’s the “Americana” style.  You can go with Shinola (which immediately brings another word to mind) for a measly $550, or you can pick a slightly more stylish Tag Heuer for only $6,300.  (Ironically, these are the Americana style…shouldn’t they be the ones made in China?)

But that’s okay, because if you thought those were reasonable, it’s time to look at the “big faces.”  Now, I’m totally into watches.  And years and years and years ago, my father used to get me some cool watches from Chinatown.  Those “big face” watches were popular when I was barely a teenager.  And I think he probably paid about $10 each.  Now, though, they’re popular again.  And in order to hit that style, you’re looking at a bit more than $10.  In fact, the cheap one that Rufea lists is a steal at $16,000 from Bulgari.  And if that isn’t enough to make it worth your while, then you can go ahead and make the choice between a new car and a watch and go for the $25,150 Rolex.

Now we get to the really cheap ones.  If you like bright colors, you also must be a tightwad because that’s where you can find a Kate Spade watch for a barely mentionable $225 or a Dior for $5,800.  Obviously, those into bright colors don’t have the spending cash of those who like Americana or big faces.

Here’s my thing – I love watches.  I collect them.  And I don’t think I’ve ever spent that much on a watch.  I admit, I love Swatch.  Still.  Always.  Cheap plastic, yeah, but why didn’t they make it into the bright colors?  Why didn’t they include them?  Oh, because they aren’t “stylish.”  And because they’re affordable. 

Yeah, yeah, I know I’m a grumpy crazy old woman, but I just love reading the Style guide from the Houston Chronicle purely for the ire it gets going.  I don’t think I’ve ever seen anything in it that was meant for your average person.  (Either that or my idea of “average” and their idea of “average” are waaaaay differnet.)

Leave a Reply

