Unbalanced – The Tipping Point

Posted: February 2, 2013 in Uncategorized
Tags: , , , ,
Scale by MConnors @ MorgueFile, http://mrg.bz/XPvHct

Scale by MConnors @ MorgueFile, http://mrg.bz/XPvHct

So I’m on a quest.  Sort of.  For $20,000 in a year.  Yup, you read that right.  I foolishly sat down and realized that with tuition, travel to and from school for both my residencies, a trip to the AWP in March, a WorldCon in August, and vacation in August, I need to somehow find an additional $20,000 in this year’s budget. 

Now, once upon a time, I had an uncle who offered reimbursement for tuition for school, but I have a feeling it’s too late for that.  I could always take out more loans for school, but I would much rather pay some off instead of take some more. 

I find myself falling back into overwork – less enjoyment but goals being achieved.  I’d like to find a balance, though.  How do I find it?  How do I make it work?

Meanwhile, we’re paying off debt, paying for Patrick’s MBA program, dealing with unexpected expenses that always seem to show up (like last year’s animal emergencies, a hot water heater that broke, etc, etc.).

I suppose the biggest problem is that what I enjoy doing the most pays the least.  And even what I like doing doesn’t pay enough.  Doing taxes was horribly depressing – it made me realize that since I’ve gone from full-time to “part-time,” I’m working twice as hard with little to no vacations or benefits, yet my earning were down by almost $10,000.  (But that’s a whole ‘nuther blog about the issues in higher education and the undervaluing of adjuncts….and, yes, I have decreed that undervaluing is a word, regardless of whether it really is or not…just accept it.)

Bridge at Night by JasonH at MorgueFile, http://mrg.bz/zfkTG8

Bridge at Night by JasonH at MorgueFile, http://mrg.bz/zfkTG8

Anyway, the main point here is that I’m trying to find my balance and handle everything from my son to school to work to life in general.  And somehow in all of that, I need to find a get rich quick scheme.  Anyone wanna buy a bridge? 

Leave a Reply

