Tell Me Why I Don’t Like Mondays…

Posted: December 21, 2012 in Uncategorized
Tags: , , , , , , , , ,
 Image courtesy of David Castillo Dominici / FreeDigitalPhotos.net

Image courtesy of David Castillo Dominici / FreeDigitalPhotos.net

Such an upbeat song.  About death, destruction, and mayhem caused by a 16-year-old girl. 

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=SaHAvEEbQOE

I was actually listening to the song a few weeks ago, the Monday before the incident in Connecticut, and I wanted to post up some of the lyrics to Facebook, but when I went ahead and looked up the song, I saw a reference to the fact that it was based on a true story.  What?

I looked up the story.

As per Snopes.com, “On 29 January 1979, 16-year-old Brenda Ann Spencer opened fire on children arriving at Cleveland Elementary School in San Diego from her house across the street, killing two men and wounding eight students and a police officer.  Principal Burton Wragg was attempting to rescue children in the line of fire when he was shot and killed, and custodian Mike Suchar was slain attempting to aid Wragg.  Spencer used a rifle her father had given her as a gift.  As to what impelled her to this form of murderous madness, she told a report, “I don’t like Mondays.  This livens up the day.”’ 

I decided I didn’t want to listen to it anymore, much less post it.  I could understand the fascination with the news story and with her mind.  Snopes provides other lines Spencer reportedly told police, such as “There was no reason for it, and it was just a lot of fun,” and “It was just like shooting ducks in a pond.”  She even commented that “[the children] looked like a herd of cows standing around, it was really easy pickings.” 

I know, we as human beings are always staring at accidents and looking for dead bodies in the weeds and watching true crime stories.  But the song seemed to do exactly what the girl wanted; she wanted notoriety and attention.  She got it.  I mean, really, what’s the difference between being famous and being infamous? 

Anyway, the bottom line – I didn’t post the lyrics.  I didn’t keep listening to the song.

And then Connecticut happened.

And I’m seriously numb to it.  My brain just can’t wrap itself around the concept.  It’s too removed from reality.  Impossible  I heard a song about it (sort of), and then it happened.  I couldn’t imagine how the people felt in 1979, and I can’t imagine it in current day, either, even though we’re supposedly inured by violent music, movies, and video games.  But none of those things are reality, and those emotions just can’t be translated.

Leave a Reply

