Willie Loman is Alive and Well and Working at Baybrook Mall

Posted: September 4, 2012 in Uncategorized
Tags: , , , ,
Sheung Wan Tram Station, Des Voeux Road Central, Sheung Wan, Hong Kong By Sumiemyra (Own work) [CC-BY-SA-3.0 (http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-sa/3.0)], via Wikimedia Commons

Sheung Wan Tram Station, Des Voeux Road Central, Sheung Wan, Hong Kong By Sumiemyra (Own work) [CC-BY-SA-3.0 (http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-sa/3.0)%5D, via Wikimedia Commons

So I could be writing this blog with a brand new Movado on my wrist, but the guy at the jewelry store didn’t want to sell me one.  Really.

I got this awesome coupon from a particular jewelry store at the local mall where I have done a lot of business in the past.  The coupon was for a free pair of pearl earrings for my birthday.  Just come in and get them – no purchase necessary!  Apparently, it should have said, “no purchase allowed.”

From the minute I walked in, the salesman was…interesting.  Quoting their own trademark back at them, I said, “I’m so loved! Look what y’all sent me!”  And he immediately said, “No, I don’t love you.”  Oh, ehem. Well, never mind then.  But I assumed he was just being a smart-ass, something I don’t normally mind from a salesclerk, as long as he’s fun and sells me things. 

He had me fill out the back of the coupon with my information, and then got my earrings.  Pretty.

Then my friend, who was with me, asked to look at a watch.  I didn’t like it – it was gold, but right behind us was a display of Movado watches.

Now, I’ve always loved them.  My husband thinks it’s because they remind me of my first Swatch – black on black on black.  And he’s probably right.  They’re simple and pretty and high quality.  Great watches, right?

I asked to see one once my friend was done.  I tried on the smaller women’s size, and then I tried on one of the men’s.  I liked the men’s better.  $495.  Not a cheap watch, but it’s almost my birthday, and, to be fair, my husband had gotten a guitar or two lately, so why not splurge on a cool watch for myself?

Then the salesman saw that I was trying on the watch with the face down, on the inside of my wrist.  “You can’t wear it that way,” he said.

“Well, yeah, I can,” I say.  “I wear all my watches that way.”

“Why would you buy a Movado if you’re going to wear it like that?”  And he blathers on about how only military people wear it that way, but why would I, etc, etc.

“That’s how I like it,” I say.  “It’s how I’m comfortable.  I’m not buying it to show off it’s a Movado.  I’m buying it because I like how it looks and it’s a quality watch.”

“If you just wanted a good watch,” he says – and I swear this is actually what he said – “then you can just go to Wal-Mart and spend $5.” 

“Not for the same quality as Movado,” I said.

“Yeah, the same quality.”

Okay, so now I’ve been told that, 1. I’m not supposed to wear my watch like that. 2. A Movado is the equivalent of a $5 Wal-Mart special. 

Needless to say, I walked out without buying anything.  My friend turned to me and said, “Wow, he really talked you out of that sale, didn’t he?”

When I got home, my husband was annoyed enough to call the manager was who surprised and said, “We don’t care how you wear what you buy.  We just want to sell it to you.”  He was very nice and told me I could go back before 9 o’clock, and he’d be happy to deal with me.

But right about now, I’m a bit soured on the place. Next time, maybe they’ll sell me something.  For now, I’m going to the Internet where Amazon doesn’t tell me that I’m wearing my watch wrong.

Leave a Reply

