Wow, Toys R Us, thank you so much!

Posted: July 24, 2012 in Uncategorized
Tags: , , , ,
Arundel Castle, UK, on a Sunny October Afternoon By Farwestern Photo by Gregg M. Erickson (Own work) [CC-BY-3.0 (http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by/3.0)], via Wikimedia Commons

Arundel Castle, UK, on a Sunny October Afternoon By Farwestern Photo by Gregg M. Erickson (Own work) [CC-BY-3.0 (http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by/3.0)%5D, via Wikimedia Commons

I recently purchased some Legos from the Toys R Us website, and they were kind enough to send me an email, introducing me to a “New Way To Save.”

Here’s part of the email:

“How do you do it? You want your kids to have the latest and greatest, but you have a budget to stick to. We understand, which is why we’re inviting you to join Little Rue today.

Little Rue is your destination for private sale boutiques on the most-wanted kids’ brands up to 80% off.

Get discounts on brands like:
Puma
Brooks Brothers
Calvin Klein
Sorel

… and more.”

Brooks Brothers?  Puma? Calvin Klein? 

Okay, maybe I have to admit now that I’m out of the loop.  I haven’t even heard of Sorel (is that a brand of clothes? Shoes? Breakfast cereal?).  But I am still shocked that apparently these are the “most-wanted kids’ brands.” 

What children dress in Brooks Brothers?  Besides Alex P. Keaton, of course.  (Showing my age, showing my age, how embarrassing!)

Another part of my shock and awe might be that my son doesn’t care what he wears.  I went to the outlet mall and came back with some t-shirts for him.  Does he care that they’re from Old Navy and Gap?  Nope.  Do I?  Nope.  I just know that they looked cool and were reasonably priced.  (Hey, if I can get a new t-shirt at Goodwill prices, I’d be an idiot to turn it down.)

Anyway, I think that Toys R Us might have missed their market with me.  I won’t be checking out any of their amazing sales anytime soon…

Leave a Reply

