Scrabbling for Scrapbooking

Posted: July 13, 2012 in Uncategorized
Tags: , ,

Scrapbook Materials By Bastet985 (

Scrapbook Materials By Bastet985 (Own work) [GFDL (http://www.gnu.org/copyleft/fdl.html), CC-BY-SA-3.0 (http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-sa/3.0/) or FAL], via Wikimedia Commons

 I’m not crafty.  I crochet.  I knit.  I cross-stitch.  But I’m not very good at any of it.  Once, when I was a girl scout, I made some candles out of wax and ice and a wick and probably some other stuff I don’t remember.  I’m guessing I did other crafty stuff, but I didn’t last very long in the girl scouts, and I refuse to say whether or not those popsicle-stick and glue sculptures had anything to do with it.

But while I may do some of those crafty things, and while I might even enjoy some of them, I have never understood the current “crafty” movement that takes up aisles and aisles of crafty stores.  Scrapbooking.

There are websites out the wazoo.  Specialty shops.  Groups that meet in the library.  Pinterest, for Christ’s sake!

So why do I care about it?  Why am I even bringing it up and wasting my time writing about (and you’re wasting your time reading about it)?

Because I have a friend.  Yes, a real, honest to god friend (not me! I swear it to god, Stewart!), who scrapbooks.  She wanted to find some stickers to go in her scrapbook about her trip to San Francisco.  She’d gotten pictures and all sorts of souvenirs at Ghirardelli Chocolate.  She wanted to make a page to remember the chocolate.

Okay, maybe I don’t understand.  I don’t know why anyone wants to make a page of scraps in a book.  But she discovered, when she began to look at the multitude of sticker options, that she could not find any of chocolate.  There are fruit stickers.  Candy stickers.  All manner and assorted sundry of food.  But nothing that’s just chocolate.  And she *needs* chocolate stickers for those pages.

I decided I’d help.  It’s a friend, right?  A friend in need and all that clap trap.  So I began searching, when I went to buy my cross stitch goodies or anything else that falls on my craptastic crafty spectrum, for those stickers.  And as I wandered up and down the aisles of Target, Wal-Mart, Michael’s, Hobby Lobby, the Dollar Tree, or anywhere else that I thought might possibly have her stickers, I found that, well, I couldn’t find them.  There may be a chocolate sticker here or there as part of a larger set of “dessert” stickers or “cake” stickers, but there is nothing I can find that is just chocolates.

Now for the sad part.  I love the stickers.  They’re pretty.  They’re funny.  They have words and images that make me want them.  I don’t know why.  I have no idea what to do with them.  I guess I’d put them in a stack and look at them.  Or maybe I’d put them in a book, but without the pictures and accompanying paraphernalia.  Because really, why would you put them all together in a scrapbook?

Oh, but if anyone happens across some chocolate-based stickers, I have a friend who can really use them…

Leave a Reply

