What the Hell are the “Glamour Women of the Year Awards”?

Posted: June 4, 2012 in Uncategorized
Tags: , , , ,
By H16794 U.S. Copyright Office. [Public domain], via Wikimedia Commons

By H16794 U.S. Copyright Office. [Public domain], via Wikimedia Commons

It’s kind of sad I have to ask, but I just do.

Here’s the thing: I read the news.  Lots of news.  And I saw a link on my local news for “Glamour Women of the Year Awards.”  And it’s just a slideshow.  Thirty-four photos.  And some of the “thumbnails” are of the women’s waists.  Others are just faces.  And there is nothing on the page anywhere about what these awards are for.  It’s just a bunch of pretty faces.  Nothing to identify what these awards are for.

Okay, that’s odd…normally people care about what awards are for, right?  If we were looking at “Men of the Year Awards,” wouldn’t we care about what they were for?  Wouldn’t there be a mention somewhere?  Somehow?

But going to Glamour’s website doesn’t help.  Instead, there are great headlines that tell me that I should own dresses, know sex tips, and will be judged by my body.  Thanks, Glamour, that’s exactly what I was looking for!

I went ahead and Googled it, thinking maybe eventually I would find the information.  I could find only a single page that wasn’t a bunch of photos.  Celebrity-Gossip.net actually listed the awards and the winners.

Hmmm.  Helpful, but not too helpful.  Then I found it – the best page that told me the true purpose of the “awards.”  The Huffington Post stood up and shouted it – “This Week in Beauty: Best & Worst From the ‘Glamour’ Women of the Year Awards 2012.”   And how awesome, you can judge the women and rank them!  Cause, you know, the awards were only about how they looked.  What else could they be?  And if you check out the comments, it’s clear that is the only point of the awards.  People –both male and female – insult the women in the photos, making fun of their eyebrows, eyeshadow, and roots.

Yes, this is another rant.  But it’s a worthwhile rant.  Why don’t we notice these things?  Why don’t we call them out?  Why don’t we argue and shout and tell these people that we mind what they do?  There are only two options: we don’t mind, or we do and we keep quiet about it.  So let’s not keep quiet.  Let’s talk about it and argue and shout.  Because if we don’t, who will?

Comments
  1. Susan says:

    Is it any wonder girls feel inferior and have so many issues!? Sad commentary on what really matters. Great post!

  2. We should email Glamour and state our point. Let’s “argue and shout”! 🙂

  3. https://secure.glamour.com/contact/youSaidIt

    “Got an opinion about Glamour? Sure you do—and we want to hear it” They want to hear it! 🙂

  4. Glamour does a good job of ignoring any and all complaints – back in 1998, I entered their contest to win a Miraclesuit…below is my entry…

    Glamour listed a contest currently being held by Miraclesuit©. Miraclesuit© asked for what most people would consider extremely demoralizing and offensive – a 25 word diatribe on why you’re too fat. Oh – and be sure to include a picture.

    Response to contest as written in Glamour May 1998:
    “It’s a Miracle” of a contest. And just in time for summer. Now’s your chance to win a custom swim wardrobe from Miraclesuit©. Enter by sending 25 words of less describing why you would like to look 10 pounds slimmer in a Miraclesuit© swimsuit. Include a photograph of yourself in your current bathing suit, along with your name, address, age and phone number and send to: Miraclesuit© “It’s a Miracle” Contest 350 Madison Avenue, 10th Floor, NY, NY 10017, Attn: Megan Smith. One grand prize winner will receive a custom wardrobe of swimsuits from Miraclesuit©. A photograph of the winner wearing their Miraclesuit© will be featured in a congratulations announcement in a future issue of Glamour. All entries must be received by June 30, 1998. For rules, regulations, crieterion, and Glamour fulfillment, see the Where-to-Shop section in the back of the book. Don’t forget to take a look at the Miraclesuit© ad in this issue to see what Miraclesuit© can do for you. (The preceding was a direct quote of the explaination of rules as appeared in Galmour, May 1998.)

    This was my entry:

    I would like to look 10 pounds slimmer in a Miraclesuit© swimsuit so that I can stop the awful cycle of binging and purging that I’ve been on. I would not have to worry about the awful thing called “a poor self image” that companies like Miraclesuit help promote by telling me I need to look 10 pounds slimmer. When wearing this magic suit, I will feel better about myself as everyone knows that a woman’s worth is judged solely by her physical appearance.

    And let’s face it, looking better means I can get myself a man. And what is a woman without a man? Men are so necessary. Men fix things, girls need things fixed. Men earn money, women spend the money a man earns. Women need men in their everyday life. Women are nothing without a man to support them and take care of them and tell them what to do.

    Yes, I need a Miraclesuit swimsuit so I can keep my subservient lifestyle. So that when I’m raped, the man can point out that I was obviously “asking for it” by wearing such a swimsuit and making myself so attractive.

    I do realize my reasons have gone over the 25 word limit, but I didn’t think I’d win anyway. I just thought maybe I could share my reasons with you so that you would continue to make your wonderful product that so thoughtfully preys on women’s insecurities and social problems so that the future will never get any better and men will continue to feel superior even when they weigh over 500 pounds and look like Jabba the Hut.

    So thank you for helping perpetuate the idea that women are too fat and too unattractive to survive in the world. Thank you for making young girls look in the mirror and see a bloated image and starve their bodies of the food they need to live. Thank you for making this world a worse place in which to live.

    Sincerely,
    Katherine

  5. Oh, and @allysonthefeminist – I did go ahead and send them my blog. But somehow I do think they’ll ignore it, too…

  6. I actually heard back from Glamour!

    “Thank you for writing to Glamour with your question.

    Glamour has been saluting inspiring, high-achieving women through our Women of The Year Awards since 1990. This annual event, covered in our December issues, has had an astonishing impact on politics and society. Some of the past recipients include, Mukhtar Mai who has risked her life for young women, Senetor Olympia Snowe, Kate Winslet, Arianna Huffington, Gabrielle Giffords, Jane Goodall, Maya Angelou, and many more inspiring and amazing.

    For more information on past Women of the Year recipients, please visit glamour.com. Also, for more information about the Women of The Year Fund, please visit:
    http://www.glamour.com/inspired/women-of-the-year/fund/about-the-women-of-the-year-fund

    Thank you again for writing to Glamour and my apologies for the delayed response.”

Leave a Reply

