How Simple is That?!?

Posted: April 21, 2012 in Uncategorized
http://www.freedigitalphotos.net/images/view_photog.php?photogid=404

Image: Simon Howden / FreeDigitalPhotos.net

I have to begin by admitting that I’ve never really read “Real Simple” before.  But I was trying to avoid work, and I clicked on a link from CNN from Real Simple about “50 New Uses for Old Things,” and some of them were pretty cool.  So I was still trying to avoid work, and I saw the article that said “10 Ways to Make Your Marriage Divorceproof.

Hey, why not read that, right?

Oh. My. God.

So I’m kind of skimming it.  The first one was okay – “realize that if you can agree on what constitutes a clean room, you can agree on anything.”  Yeah, I’ll buy that – it’s about learning to see things from the same standpoint.

Then number two is “if you’re irritated by your partner, imagine him as a small child.”  Seriously?  Because, you know, all men are idiots and act like children.  Now I’m feeling insulted on behalf of men.

Number three, though, is the total winner.  It’s bad enough that the header is “no fisticuffs in public.”  So, beating each other in private is okay?  I had to read the whole thing.  And then I get to this part… “Take this example: We were at a picnic with a group of friends when the wife of one of the couples present casually announced that she had bought their family a house. In another country. Without consulting the husband.”

Wait, wait, wait, wait!

She had bought a house.

Not a pair of expensive shoes.  Or a dress.  Or even a new dining room table.  A bleepity-bleep-bleep house!

Who runs out and can just pick up a house?  What else does she buy for fun?  A stable of horses, along with the stable?  A couple of Maseratis?

How is this “Real Simple”??  What is simple about buying a house?  Or the person who could run out and do that? I suppose I must be far more “complex” than I thought…

Leave a Reply

