I Dreamed My Teeth Fell Out

Posted: February 2, 2012 in Uncategorized
Tags: , , , , , ,

toothy-goodness

Really.  It was like I would just be sitting there, and then I’d feel something, and I’d put my hand in my mouth and another tooth would have come loose and dropped out.  It seemingly kept going – and I kept feeling more and more empty places in my mouth.

Being the absolutely brilliant human that I am, the minute I woke up, I knew that I was not alone in that dream.  It’s one of the common shared dreams, like falling or having to go to the bathroom.  (Although I must say that I almost prefer the having to go to the bathroom dream – at least then once you wake up, everything is better.)  But this dream stuck with me, and so I had to go do my dream research.  Or get someone else to do it for me, anyway.

And it turns out that dreaming about your teeth falling out has to do with anxiety and changes, according to most sources.  Which makes perfect sense when you know that I just got back from Borderlands Press Bootcamp on Sunday night.

I knew I was in for a good weekend – or at least an interesting one – when on the first night, we were told we would either learn how to become published writers or we would learn that we wanted to write as a hobby.  And that while they couldn’t each us how to write, they could sure tell us how not to write.  It was a weekend full of helpful suggestions and lots and lots of information.  Of course, just because people are encouraging doesn’t mean that they want to encourage you.  The whole “you show such promise” and “I can really hear your voice” and often said in order to cover up the “but there’s no plot” or perhaps the “have you even taken an English class? ever?”

But even taking everything with about as much salt as you might find around the side of a margarita, I decided that I was in it for the long haul.  I came home ready to refine my work and send it out again and again and again.

My dream teeth, however, seem to have had a different viewpoint as they took to the hills after this personal revelation.  So we’ll see who’s right – me or my teeth.

Leave a Reply

